BELL WITCH - Mirror Reaper - 2xLP White Vinyl

BELL WITCH - Mirror Reaper - 2xLP White Vinyl

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

With their third full-length album “Mirror Reaper”, Seattle doom metal duo BELL WITCH have created their most enormous and all encompassing work to date that will see its official release on Digital/2xCD/2xLP on Oct 20 th . By taking heir blueprint for minimalistic (the sole use of bass guitar, drums, and vocals), mournful, yet massive sounding doom to a new level with “Mirror Reaper”, BELL WITCH have attempted the unthinkable in the genre; a continuous 83 minute piece unfolding as a single time- stretching track. Once again engineered and mixed by veteran producer Billy Anderson who claims “Mirror Reaper” as one of the milestones in his entire producing career, the duo of Dylan Desmond (bass, vocals) and Jesse Shreibman (drums, vocals, organ) have pushed the BELL WITCH sound even further beyond their landmark 2015 LP, the genre defining “Four Phantoms”. While still harnessing that massive, overwhelming, monolithic crushing enveloping heaviness “Mirror Reaper” sees BELL WITCH explore even further the other aspect of their sound; the more meditative, melancholic, introspective, and somber tones making these elements even more singular. With the addition of organ adding a new layer to BELL WITCH’s sound “Mirror Reaper” also sees honorary BELL WITCH member and guest vocalist Erik Moogridge (of Aerial Ruin) return once again offering an even more prominent presence with his vocals.

BELL WITCH, formed by Dylan Desmond (ex-Samothrace) and ex-drummer/vocalist Adrian Guerra (RIP) first made an immediate impact within the death/doom metal scene with their 011 self-titled demo and would then partner with Profound Lore Records for the release of their debut album “Longing” in Nov 2012. The duo’s second LP, the acclaimed “Four Phantoms” released in April of 2015 would result in being recognized as one of the doom metal triumphs of that year. It was a turning point album which saw the band do even more extensive touring (in North America and Europe) and perform at many notable events and festivals such as Roadburn, Basilica Soundscape, Pitchfork  Northside, Sled Island, and Psycho CA.  Sept of 2015 would see a crucial turning point which saw Guerra leave the band and be replaced by current drummer/keyboardist/vocalist Jesse Shreibman. In May 2016 tragedy would hit with the untimely death of former and co-founding member Adrian Guerra.

On the themes surrounding the concept and lyrics of “Mirror Reaper” the band state, “Our original idea for this record was to write a two song album titled ‘As Above/So Below’. These two songs would have been split into seven movements to correlate with the 7 Hermetic principals. The process took a life of it's own and upon completion we have 1 song spanning 83 minutes. It is to be titled ‘Mirror Reaper’ in reference to the axiom ‘As Above So Below’. During the writing process we were devastated by the loss of our dear friend and former drummer, Adrian Guerra. In love and respect to his memory, we reserved an important yet brief section in the song for him that features vocal tracks left over from our last album. We believe he would be proud of it.”


1. Mirror Reaper

Label: Profound Lore Records
Media type: 2x 12" LP
Release date: October 20, 2017
Genre: Doom